Laws adopted to outlaw or restrict business practices considered monopolistic or that restrain trade. In the U.S., the principal antitrust laws are the Sherman Antitrust Act (enacted in 1890 and frequently amended), the Clayton Act (originally adopted in 1914), the Robinson-Patman Act (passed in 1936 to add price-discrimination prohibitions to the Clayton Act), and the Federal Trade Commission Act (also adopted in 1914). Some states have also adopted antitrust laws, such as the Donnelly Act in New York. Outside the U.S., antitrust laws are often referred to as “competition” laws.

« Back to Glossary Index